OUT OF STOCK Leap of Faith Summer 2023: Every Drop is a Man's Nightmare

$50.00
SKU: XLOFDROP

ABOUT THE BOX AND THE EVENT

We're obsessed with this new short story collection! Loyalty co-owner Christine says, "Every Drop is a Man’s Nightmare is a wholly immersive collection of short stories — the smell of the ocean and plumeria, with an undercurrent of loneliness and anger, lingers in the air. Cut away the colonialist, haole lens, and embrace the haunting brutality and beauty of contemporary Hawaiian life; this is for the Kanaka Maoli and the hapas. I especially loved how much Pidgin and Hawaiian were in the stories, and how superstitions and mythology were woven throughout. Reading this felt like coming home. For fans of Sabrina and Corina, Milk Blood Heat, and Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls, Megan Kamalei Kakimoto is a searing and bold new voice. I will be recommending this collection to everyone!" In addition to this beautiful book we'll be donating part of the proceeds from this box to the Hawaiʻi Peopleʻs Fund. Author Megan Kamalei Kakimoto will be in conversation with Shannon Sanders in our Petworth location on September 6th! Subscribers and individual box purchasers are welcome to attend in person and all subscribers will be emailed the recorded event! Boxes will be shipped out the day after the event and available for pickup from that evening forward.  

INSIDE THE BOX

  • Signed hardcover copy of Every Drop is a Man's Nightmare
  • Enamel pin featuring the central cover image of the book
  • Stickers from Hawaiian maker Yuriko J. Design
  • Blue and gold Loyalty branded pencil
  • Free registration to the in-person event on 9/6 at our Petworth location and a link to the recorded event
  • Donation to Hawaiʻi Peopleʻs Fund for direct support

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Megan Kamalei Kakimoto is a Japanese and Kanaka Maoli (native Hawaiian) writer from Honolulu, Hawai'i. Her fiction has been featured in GrantaConjunctionsJoyland, and elsewhere. She has been a finalist for the Keene Prize for Literature and has received support from the Rona Jaffe Foundation and the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference. She received her MFA from the Michener Center for Writers, where she was a Fiction Fellow. She lives in Honolulu.

Price: $50.00