Brown Is Beautiful (Hardcover)

Brown Is Beautiful By Supriya Kelkar, Noor Sofi (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Supriya Kelkar, Noor Sofi (Illustrator)
$18.99
Not In Store - Available to Special Order

Description


For fans of Hair Love and Eyes that Kiss in the Corners, here is an empowering picture book about recognizing the beauty around you and within you by award-winning author Supriya Kelkar and rising star illustrator Noor Sofi.


Brown is beautiful.


On a hike with her grandparents, a young Indian-American girl makes note of all the things in nature that are brown, too. From a nurturing mother bear, to the steadiness of deep twisting roots, to the beauty of a wild mustang, brown is everywhere! On her way, the girl collects the beautiful brown things she encounters as mementos for a scrapbook to share with a very special new addition to her family--a baby brother!


Brown is you.
Brown is me.

About the Author


Supriya Kelkar is an award-winning author, illustrator, and screenwriter who grew up in the Midwest, where she learned Hindi as a child by watching three Hindi movies a week. Winner of the New Visions Award for her middle grade novel Ahimsa, Supriya has worked on the writing teams for several Hindi films, including Lage Raho Munna Bhai and Eklavya: The Royal Guard, India’s entry into the 2007 Academy Awards.

Noor Sofi, illustrator of Supriya Kelkar's Brown Is Beautiful, is a Kashmiri-American Visual Development artist who works in Burbank, California at Taiko Animation Studios. She loves coming up with stories, wandering around art galleries, and hanging with her cat, Momo.

Praise For…


"This brilliant tapestry of browns may spark discussions about identity and nature." —Kirkus Reviews

"In a lyrically narrated picture book that centers the titular color, Kelkar (Bindu’s Bindis) follows intergenerational members of a brown-skinned family walking out-of-doors and beholding brown-hued elements of a changing landscape... In lustrous autumnal hues, debut illustrator Sofi’s rich digital art captures a variety of natural landscapes via images both majestic and familiar, and ends with scrapbook pages from the family’s outing." —Publishers Weekly

"A baby’s homecoming is a reminder of the joy found in the color brown, a cozy ­message that few readers will want to miss. ­Lovely." —School Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9780374389529
ISBN-10: 0374389527
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: October 4th, 2022
Pages: 40
Language: English