Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


“So modern and fresh. I adore Yinka.” —Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation

“Feel good, funny, and clever.” –Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December

Meet Yinka: a thirty-something, Oxford-educated, British Nigerian woman with a well-paid job, good friends, and a mother whose constant refrain is “Yinka, where is your huzband?”


        Yinka’s Nigerian aunties frequently pray for her delivery from singledom, her work friends think she’s too traditional (she’s saving herself for marriage!), her girlfriends think she needs to get over her ex already, and the men in her life…well, that’s a whole other story.  But Yinka herself has always believed that true love will find her when the time is right.
     Still, when her cousin gets engaged, Yinka commences Operation Find-A-Date for Rachel's Wedding. Aided by a spreadsheet and her best friend, Yinka is determined to succeed. Will Yinka find herself a huzband? And what if the thing she really needs to find is herself?
    Yinka, Where is Your Huzband? brilliantly subverts the traditional romantic comedy with an unconventional heroine who bravely asks the questions we all have about love. Wry, acerbic, moving, this is a love story that makes you smile but also makes you think--and explores what it means to find your way between two cultures, both of which are yours.

About the Author


Born and raised in London, Lizzie Damilola Blackburn is a British-Nigerian writer who won the Literary Consultancy Pen Factor Writing Competition in 2019 with an early draft of her debut novel. She has been on the receiving end of the question in the title of her novel many times, and now lives with her husband in Milton Keynes, England.
 
 

 

Praise For…


Praise for Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband?:

“So modern and fresh. Like Bridget Jones, Yinka is a lovable and relatable disaster—which is to say, she isn’t actually a disaster at all...I adore her.”
—Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation

“Beautifully observed, warm and deeply human, Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? is a meditation on family and friendship, on love and self-love. Feel-good, funny and clever, it’s got smash-hit written all over it!”
Josie Silver, New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December

“Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? is a beautiful, big hearted story about friendship, family, and love. Yinka's charming voice draws you in and her journey toward self-acceptance will make you stay. A fun and relatable read.” 
Emiko Jean, New York Times bestselling author

“Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? was a total joy to read--it's hilarious, insightful, and so uplifting. Yinka is the most lovable character I've come across in a long time--I was cheering her on for every step of her journey.”
Beth O'Leary, international bestselling author of The Road Trip

“Warm and fun and sweet, great on female friendships and extended families.”
Marian Keyes, international bestselling author of Grown Ups

“Blackburn deftly immerses us in the life of a loveable Yinka as she straddles two cultures in her search for a 'huzband.' Smart, sophisticated, and fresh this is the 'girl gets herself' type of story I love to read!”
Jayne Allen, author of Black Girls Must Die Exhausted

“A warm, witty, and joyful novel bursting with charm and unforgettable characters, this is a story about friendship, family, romance, and the most important quest of all--loving and accepting yourself.”
Lauren Ho, author of Last Tang Standing

“Spreadsheets, meddling aunties, and makeovers...Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? is a delightful journey of a British Nigerian woman longing to find love, and to love herself. Reader, you'll root for Yinka the whole way.”
Patricia Park, author of Re Jane

“Lizzie Blackburn writes with a witty tenderness and absorbing fluidity that brings Yinka, the most loveable character you'll meet, to rich life! I cheered for her, cringed for her, and rooted for her all the way. A fabulously fresh debut guaranteed to warm your heart. Loved it!”
Lọlá Ákínmádé Åkerström, author of In Every Mirror She's Black

“Glorious debut! Read it over two nights and loved it!”
Nikki May, author of Wahala

“What a darling book! Yinka, Where is your huzband? drew me in right away with the banter between Yinka and her overbearing family. It is at times bitingly funny and relatable, I giggled out loud so many times my partner asked me to finish the book upstairs (!). Yinka's internal struggles to meet the standards and expectations placed on her by everyone else are familiar.... A gorgeous, easy read, but with real depth to its punchy chapters. This book is really just such an extraordinary debut from one of the UK's sure-to-be rising talents in contemporary fiction. BRAVA!!!!” 
Lizzy Dent, author of The Summer Job

“Lizzie Damilola Blackburn's debut novel is incredibly relatable for anybody whose family members frequently question their relationship status. In Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? a thirty-something Nigerian woman attempts to find herself a wedding date and learns some valuable lessons about life and love.”
Marie Claire

“Blackburn’s debut is a laugh-out-loud story of self-discovery, set against the world of contemporary dating. Yinka cleverly navigates others’ competing expectations of who she should be, figuring out who she is in the process. Fans of Uzma Jalaluddin and Sonya Lalli will delight in this story of a one of a kind woman learning how to love one of the most important people in her life: herself.”
—Booklist

“A sassy, spirited story.”
—Kirkus Reviews

“Blackburn’s lighthearted tone helps deliver heavy thoughts on colorism, the tension of cultural differences, and the benefits of therapy, as the story moves toward a happy ending on all fronts. This delivers loads of entertainment and a dollop of enlightenment.”
—Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9780593299005
ISBN-10: 0593299000
Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books
Publication Date: January 18th, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English