The Dos and Donuts of Love (Hardcover)

The Dos and Donuts of Love By Adiba Jaigirdar Cover Image
$19.99
Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!

Description


A pun-filled YA contemporary romance, The Dos and Donuts of Love by Adiba Jaigirdar finds a teenage girl competing in a televised baking competition, with contestants including her ex-girlfriend and a potential new crush - perfect for fans of The Great British Bake Off and She Drives Me Crazy!

“Welcome to the first ever Junior Irish Baking Show!”


Shireen Malik is still reeling from the breakup with her ex-girlfriend, Chris, when she receives news that she’s been accepted as a contestant on a new televised baking competition show. This is Shireen’s dream come true! Because winning will not only mean prize money, but it will also bring some much-needed attention to You Drive Me Glazy, her parents’ beloved donut shop.

Things get complicated, though, because Chris is also a contestant on the show. Then there’s the very outgoing Niamh, a fellow contestant who is becoming fast friends with Shireen. Things are heating up between them, and not just in the kitchen.

As the competition intensifies , Shireen will have to ignore all these factors and more— including potential sabotage—if she wants a sweet victory!

About the Author


Adiba Jaigirdar is the critically-acclaimed and bestselling author of The Henna Wars and Hani & Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating. A Bangladeshi/Irish writer and teacher, she has an MA in Postcolonial Studies from the University of Kent, England and a BA in English and History from UCD, Ireland. All of her writing is aided by tea, and a healthy dose of Janelle Monáe and Hayley Kiyoko. When not writing, she is probably ranting about the ills of colonialism, playing video games, or expanding her overflowing lipstick collection. She can be found on Twitter and on Instagram

Praise For…


An NPR 'Best of the Year' 2023 Book

"This joyful read with a cheerful protagonist also explores racism, fatphobia, and mental health with care. Cute, fresh, and endearing." —Kirkus

"
The charming baking competition setting provides most of the fun and excitement in the story, and adorably punny chapter titles...bring added humor, but the text injects enough realism to keep the comedic elements this side of twee." BCCB

". . .delightfully delectable. . .Shireen's story ultimately comes to a romantic and well-baked resolution." —NPR

"Filled with mouthwatering food and sensational puns, The Dos and Donuts of Love is the sweetest of love stories, and will have you rooting for Shireen both in the competition and in matters of the heart. Sure to be another favorite romance from Adiba Jaigirdar." —Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Five Feet Apart

"Start with a warmhearted romance, add in two cups of refreshing frankness, and blend it all together with a healthy scoop of reality TV chaos. Adiba Jaigirdar’s mix of wit and sincerity hits every sweet spot, and the world class puns are just the icing on the donut." —Becky Albertalli, award-winning author of Simon Vs. The Homosapiens Agenda

“Deliciously funny and swoony, The Dos and Donuts of Love serves delightful slices of identity, community, redemption, and love. Adiba Jaigirdar delivers another pitch-perfect, must-have winner!” —Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions and Right Where I Left You

Simply flan-tastic. A celebration of queer love, being brown, fat bodies, second chances, and delectable desserts, THE DOS AND DONUTS OF LOVE embodies the warmth and comfort of binge-watching your favorite show. An absolute must-read for baking show addicts—with puns that serve as the icing on the cake.” — Crystal Maldonado, author of Fat Chance, Charlie Vega

"I flew through this! Mouth-watering food, a romance that had me squealing, and a fun premise with a twisty plot—it’s everything I love in my rom-coms!” —Sophie Gonzales, author of Never Ever Getting Back Together



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250842114
ISBN-10: 1250842115
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: June 6th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English