House of Cotton: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
House of Cotton: A Novel By Monica Brashears Cover Image
$27.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A stunning, contemporary Black southern gothic novel about what it means to be a poor woman in the God fearing south in the age of OnlyFans, by a breakout new Affrilachian writer, perfect for readers of The Other Black Girl and Luster

"A new, dazzling, and essential American voice." —George Saunders, author of Lincoln in the Bardo

“Every page, every scene, every sentence of Monica Brashears’s debut novel House of Cotton dazzles and surprises. An intense, enthralling, and deeply satisfying read!” —Deesha Philyaw, author of The Secret Lives of Church Ladies

Magnolia Brown is nineteen years old, broke, and effectively an orphan. She feels stuck and haunted: by her overdrawn bank account, her predatory landlord, and the ghost of her late grandmother Mama Brown.

One night, while working at her dead-end gas station job, a mysterious, slick stranger named
Cotton walks in and offers to turn Magnolia’s luck around with a lucrative “modeling” job at his
family’s funeral home. She accepts. But despite things looking up, Magnolia’s problems fatten along with her wallet. When Cotton’s requests become increasingly weird, Magnolia discovers there’s a lot more at stake than just her rent.

Sharp as a belted knife, this sly social commentary cuts straight to the bone. House of Cotton will keep you mesmerized until the very last page.

About the Author


Monica Brashears is an Affrilachian writer from Tennessee. She is a graduate of Syracuse University's MFA program. Her work has appeared in Nashville Review, Split Lip Magazine, Appalachian Review, The Masters Review, and more. She lives in Syracuse, NY where she is at work on her second novel.

Praise For…


A beautiful book about the strange contours of grief.” —Raven Leilani, author of Luster, winner of the NBCC John Leonard Prize

"Monica Brashears is a stunning new talent. Her debut, House of Cotton, is an incredible work of harsh beauty and a novel you won't forget." —Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, New York Times bestselling author of Friday Black

"Monica Brashears is an immense talent, and her enchanting, strikingly original prose will astonish you. Magnolia is such a vivid, tender character: whip smart but deeply innocent, traumatized but also joyful and funny. Magnolia’s complex voice is nothing short of miraculous. House of Cotton is a powerful, seductive, and subversive novel." Dana Spiotta, author of Eat the Document, winner of the Rosenthal Foundation Award

"Mystical, carnal, and written in fire. House of Cotton ushers Monica Brashears straight onto American lit’s mainstage, which she should grace for a long time.” —Jonathan Dee, author of The Privileges, winner of the Prix Fitzgerald



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250851918
ISBN-10: 1250851912
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: April 4th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English