We Are a Haunting: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
We Are a Haunting: A Novel By Tyriek White Cover Image
$26.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


"Tyriek White did not come to play. He is doing something for New York narratives I've never seen, and really never imagined. This novel is so New York—so, so New York—yet so deeply southern on lower frequencies. It's astonishing." —Kiese Laymon, author of Heavy and Long Division

A poignant debut for readers of Jesmyn Ward and Jamel Brinkley, We Are a Haunting follows three generations of a working class family and their inherited ghosts: a story of hope and transformation. 

In 1980’s Brooklyn, Key is enchanted with her world, glowing with her dreams. A charming and tender doula serving the Black women of her East New York neighborhood, she lives, like her mother, among the departed and learns to speak to and for them. Her untimely death leaves behind her mother Audrey, who is on the verge of losing the public housing apartment they once shared. Colly, Key’s grieving son, soon learns that he too has inherited this sacred gift and begins to slip into the liminal space between the living and the dead on his journey to self-realization.

In the present, an expulsion from school forces Colly across town where, feeling increasingly detached and disenchanted with the condition of his community, he begins to realize that he must, ultimately, be accountable to the place he is from. After college, having forged an understanding of friendship, kinship, community, and how to foster love in places where it seems impossible, Colly returns to East New York to work toward addressing structural neglect and the crumbling blocks of New York City public housing he was born to; discovering a collective path forward from the wreckages of the past. A supernatural family saga, a searing social critique, and a lyrical and potent account of displaced lives, We Are a Haunting unravels the threads connecting the past, present, and future, and depicts the palpable, breathing essence of the neglected corridors of a pulsing city with pathos and poise.

About the Author


Tyriek White is a writer, teacher, and musician born and raised in Brooklyn, NY. He has received fellowships from the Callaloo Creative Writing Workshop and the New York State Writers Institute. He holds an MFA in creative writing from the University of Mississippi.

Praise For…


“Tyriek White did not come to play. He is doing something for New York narratives I've never seen, and really never imagined. This novel is so New York—so, so New York—yet so deeply southern on lower frequencies. It's astonishing.”
—Kiese Laymon, author of Heavy and Long Division


Product Details
ISBN: 9781662601712
ISBN-10: 1662601719
Publisher: Astra House
Publication Date: April 25th, 2023
Pages: 304
Language: English