Monsters Born and Made (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Monsters Born and Made Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


*A BookRiot Must-Read South Asian Book of 2022*

She grew up battling the monsters that live in the black seas, but it couldn't prepare her to face the cunning cruelty of the ruling elite.

Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Fable, this South Asian-inspired fantasy is a gripping debut about the power of the elite, the price of glory, and one girl's chance to change it all.

Sixteen-year-old Koral and her older brother Emrik risk their lives each day to capture the monstrous maristags that live in the black seas around their island. They have to, or else their family will starve.

In an oceanic world swarming with vicious beasts, the Landers—the ruling elite, have indentured Koral's family to provide the maristags for the Glory Race, a deadly chariot tournament reserved for the upper class. The winning contender receives gold and glory. The others—if they're lucky—survive.

When the last maristag of the year escapes and Koral has no new maristag to sell, her family's financial situation takes a turn for the worse and they can't afford medicine for her chronically ill little sister. Koral's only choice is to do what no one in the world has ever dared: cheat her way into the Glory Race.

But every step of the way is unpredictable as Koral races against competitors—including her ex-boyfriend—who have trained for this their whole lives and who have no intention of letting a low-caste girl steal their glory. As a rebellion rises and rogues attack Koral to try and force her to drop out, she must choose—her life or her sister's—before the whole island burns.

Perfect for fans of:

  • Dystopian Fantasy
  • Sea Monsters
  • Exes-to-Rivals-to-?
  • Golden Boy x Pariah
  • Deadly Competition
  • Rebellion
  • Angsty Teenagers
  • Female Friendship

Praise for Monsters Born and Made:

"An exhilarating race of willpower and defiance, set on an utterly unique world filled with glorious monsters." —Xiran Jay Zhao, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow

"Monsters Born and Made takes well-beloved YA tropes and turns them on their heads, creating an action-packed rallying cry against oppression and a riveting tale of one girl's desperation to survive no matter the odds." —Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

About the Author


Tanvi Berwah grew up wanting to touch the stars and reach back in time. She graduated from the University of Delhi with a Bachelor's and Master's in Literature of English and lives in India. This is her debut novel.

Praise For…


"Berwah builds excitement with her well-crafted characters and storyline. Her world building is superb, and masterfully weaves in elements of the South Asian caste system. This book will leave readers eagerly awaiting a sequel" — Youth Services Book Review, STARRED review

"Monsters Born and Made takes well-beloved YA tropes and turns them on their heads, creating an action-packed rallying cry against oppression and a riveting tale of one girl's desperation to survive no matter the odds." — Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin

"An exhilarating race of willpower and defiance, set on an utterly unique world filled with glorious monsters." — Xiran Jay Zhao, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Iron Widow


Product Details
ISBN: 9781728247625
ISBN-10: 1728247624
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: September 6th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English