House of Cotton (Large Print / Library Binding)

House of Cotton By Monica Brashears Cover Image
$32.99
Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!

Description


A stunning, contemporary Black southern gothic novel about what it means to be a poor woman in the God fearing south in the age of OnlyFans, by a breakout new Affrilachian writer, perfect for readers of The Other Black Girl and Luster

"A new, dazzling, and essential American voice." --George Saunders, author of Lincoln in the Bardo

"Every page, every scene, every sentence of Monica Brashears's debut novel House of Cotton dazzles and surprises. An intense, enthralling, and deeply satisfying read " --Deesha Philyaw, author of The Secret Lives of Church Ladies

Magnolia Brown is nineteen years old, broke, and effectively an orphan. She feels stuck and haunted: by her overdrawn bank account, her predatory landlord, and the ghost of her late grandmother Mama Brown.

One night, while working at her dead-end gas station job, a mysterious, slick stranger named Cotton walks in and offers to turn Magnolia's luck around with a lucrative "modeling" job at his family's funeral home. She accepts. But despite things looking up, Magnolia's problems fatten along with her wallet. When Cotton's requests become increasingly weird, Magnolia discovers there's a lot more at stake than just her rent.

Sharp as a belted knife, this sly social commentary cuts straight to the bone. House of Cotton will keep you mesmerized until the very last page.

About the Author


Monica Brashears is an Affrilachian writer from Tennessee. She is a graduate of Syracuse University's MFA program. Her work has appeared in Nashville Review, Split Lip Magazine, Appalachian Review, The Masters Review, and more. House of Cotton is her debut novel


Product Details
ISBN: 9798885788656
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: August 9th, 2023
Language: English