Holiday Gift Guide: Fiction


HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE: FICTION

Return to main page of Holiday Gift Guide

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Family Lore: A Good Morning America Book Club Pick By Elizabeth Acevedo Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063207264
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Ecco - August 1st, 2023

Family Lore is a dynamic, playful, and layered tale of one Dominican American family touched by magic. Flor has always had a talent for predicting when someone will die, so when she announces she's planning a living wake for herself, her family knows death is coming. But is it coming for Flor or someone else? This book is a perfect choice for anyone who loves magical realism or multigenerational family fiction. — Susie


Staff Pick Badge
Witness: Stories By Jamel Brinkley Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374607036
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 1st, 2023

A simmering tour-de-force, Brinkley has evolved by every imaginable measure since the publication of A Lucky Man, his debut collection. With every story set in New York City, each of Brinkley's protagonists wrestle with isolation and the experience of being unmoored. In the hands of a lesser writer, these themes would swiftly fall flat and lose dimension, however, the scope and depth of Brinkley's imagination funnels a deft particularity into each of these ten stories. Complex and beautifully crafted, Witness will leave you anxious to read more of this sublime author's work. — Malik


Staff Pick Badge
Lucky Red: A Novel By Claudia Cravens Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593498248
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: The Dial Press - June 20th, 2023

Lucky Red is the cinematic, feminist, queer af western that I need everyone to read so we can fangirl about it together. Reminiscent of Deadwood and Westworld, but centered on the women of the brothel house, Claudia Cravens flips the script and offers readers a fresh take on the “Wild West” of 1870s Dodge City. You’ll find yourself wholeheartedly rooting for Bridget (aka “Red”) despite wanting to shake some sense into her at times. Sidle up, have some whiskey, play some cards, pay for a poke, and gear up for a hell of a good time! — Christine


Staff Pick Badge
When the Hibiscus Falls By M. Evelina Galang Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781566896795
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Coffee House Press - June 13th, 2023

One of my favorite short story collections! When the Hibiscus Falls centers Filipino and FilAm women — descendants and their ancestors — while blurring the line of reality and myth. The prose is lyrical yet precise and incredibly immersive, you can feel all of your senses tuned into each story. There is a line from the titular story: “One day we will all be the ancestors” that I find myself thinking of often, reflecting on that connection to community, to culture, to family, to identity. I read this book during a time of grief and the themes of loss, ghosts, and grief, how they shape us and change us was transformative and healing. This is the book for the strong women in your life and would make a great book for multiple generations to read together! — Christine


Staff Pick Badge
Shark Heart: A Love Story By Emily Habeck Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781668006498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: S&S/ Marysue Rucci Books - August 8th, 2023

Original, clever, and creative — Shark Heart is an unforgettable debut! This is an odd and delightful book of love, humanity, art, and moments of joy in the face of loss, grief, and uh transforming into a great white shark. You know, as one does. Reading Shark Heart is an experience that will stay with you forever and is perfect for fans of Annie Hartnett. Think Nightbitch, but whimsical. — Christine


Staff Pick Badge
The House of Eve By Sadeqa Johnson Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781982197360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: 37 Ink - February 7th, 2023

The House of Eve is Historical Fiction done perfectly. I knew immediately when I finished Ruby and Eleanor's story that it would be in my top books of 2023. Set in two different places in the 1950s, a fifteen year old in Philidaphia and a Howard student in Washington, DC, this book will give you a full story from beginning to end. As their worlds intertwine, these girls stories will be unforgetable. — Chardai


Staff Pick Badge
Moonrise Over New Jessup: A Novel By Jamila Minnicks Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781643752464
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Algonquin Books - January 10th, 2023

This utterly gorgous story of safe place versus advancing your place reads like it was handed down by the ancestors, not written. You will love being transported to New Jessup with this intergenerational southern Black family story. For you or anyone who loves atmospheric writing and to be entirely enveloped by a story. — Hannah


Staff Pick Badge
Tauhou By Kōtuku Titihuia Nuttall Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781487011697
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: House of Anansi Press - April 11th, 2023

This hybrid novel has everything you could ask for - the prose is beautiful, the stories full of love, longing, hope, and loss, and because it's on the shorter side, it makes the perfect gift for the reader in your life looking to get back into things this holiday season. — Noah


Staff Pick Badge
The People Who Report More Stress: Stories By Alejandro Varela Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781662601071
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Astra House - April 4th, 2023

Alejandro Varela interweaves the stories of people living on the margins of gentrified Brooklyn with humor and a deep introspective eye. Whether the story features teaching rich, white children Spanish through the music of Selena, or the body politic through dating and politics, each tale gets at our modern frustrations with an eye to detail, kindness, and wit. — Hannah


Staff Pick Badge
Let Us Descend: A Novel By Jesmyn Ward Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982104498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Scribner - October 24th, 2023

Recommending a Jesmyn Ward novel is frankly intimidating! However much you've loved previous Ward novels, this historical tale capturing the internal life of a young woman who is being marched to a new world of enslavement. Her internal life is given full exploration as is the world that has created such a horror. A beautiful and rich story fully told by a master of the novel. — Hannah


Staff Pick Badge
Family Meal: A Novel By Bryan Washington Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593421093
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Riverhead Books - October 10th, 2023

Please let me give you a full throated recommendation for a novel about grief. This deeply atmospheric book follows Cam, a young queer man who comes back to Houston after losing their partner. A true poet of place, Washington puts you into Cam's life and at the conclusion of this book you will be changed. — Hannah


Staff Pick Badge
Land of Milk and Honey: A Novel By C Pam Zhang Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593538241
Availability: Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!
Published: Riverhead Books - September 26th, 2023

In a dystopian future where smog has choked out the sun, killing the majority of plant and animal life, one chef has lost her passion for food. She's offered a job on a mountaintop community above the smog, where she cooks elaborate dishes for the wealthy and well-connected people invited to live there. But as her tastebuds reawaken, she starts to question her mysterious employers' plans for the community. It's a thought-provoking book full of mouthwatering food descriptions and surprising twists. — Susie