Holiday Gift Guide: Kids Chapter & Graphic

Loyalty Silver Spring has Moved!


HOLIDAY GIFT GUIDE: KIDS

CHAPTER BOOKS
GRAPHIC NOVELS

Return to main page of Holiday Gift Guide

 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Gone Wolf By Amber McBride Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250850492
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 3rd, 2023

I am in disbelief of how in love with this book I am. I immediately sent the synopsis to everyone I knew. Amber McBride is one of my new favorite authors I have discovered this year. Gone Wolf perfectly tells the story of all the feelings that little Black children go through in this world. I highly recommend the audiobook to accompany this book! — Christine


Staff Pick Badge
Barely Floating By Lilliam Rivera Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593323120
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Kokila - August 29th, 2023

Nat is my hero! She's a passionate, clever (occasionally hot-tempered), Latine fat girl who's also a fabulous swimmer. When she sees the LA Mermaids perform at her community pool, Nat is determined to become the "Latine Esther Williams," even though her activist mother and professor dad aren't fans of a sport that they believe prioritizes image over athleticism. Nat, never one to back down from a challenge, sets out to prove that synchronized swimming is exactly where she belongs. — Sandie


Staff Pick Badge
Tagging Freedom By Rhonda Roumani Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781454950721
Availability: Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!
Published: Union Square Kids - November 7th, 2023

I can think of few books that are timelier and will remind tween and teen readers about the world beyond their comfortable communities. In Rhonda Roumani's remarkable debut middle-grade novel, young Syrian graffiti resistance artist Kareem is sent to live with his Syrian American cousin Sam in small-town Massachusetts. The book explores how middle-schoolers can become activists through art and social media. It's a beautiful story about friendship, family, and resistance. — Sandie


Staff Pick Badge
Ways to Build Dreams (A Ryan Hart Story) By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Renée Watson, Nina Mata (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781547610181
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - October 17th, 2023

Renee Watson's Ryan Heart series gives young chapter readers the fun and adventurous series they deserve featuring a young Black girl and her family and friends in Portland, Oregon. Based on her own childhood memories, the bold personality of her niece, and a desire for stories of Black kids just getting to be kids, Watson's chapter books are dynamic and deeply heartfelt without being heavy. From pranks to races, sibling in-jokes and arguments, and enjoying the music of your neighborhood, Ryan Heart's latest adventure encourages us to chase our dreams and stay true to the folks who believe in us. — Hannah


Staff Pick Badge
The Otherwoods By Justine Pucella Winans Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781547612543
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - September 12th, 2023

The Otherwoods is a spooky, adventurous, and super fun book! River is a nonbinary twelve year old who can see monsters and ghosts from another world. They're a reluctant hero who is braver than they think. You will be rooting for River and their cat Mr. Fluffy Pancakes with your whole heart in this magical, atmospheric story that's perfect for fans of Coraline or Katherine Arden's Small Spaces. — Christine


Staff Pick Badge
Oliver's Great Big Universe: A Novel By Jorge Cham Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781419764080
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 26th, 2023

What do farts have to do with the universe? Read Oliver's Great Big Universe and find out for yourself! This is a super fun read for anyone who likes Diary of a Wimpy Kid and thinks space is cool. Also farts. — Christine


Staff Pick Badge
Skeleanor the Decomposer: A Graphic Novel By Emily Ettlinger, Emily Ettlinger (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Emily Ettlinger, Emily Ettlinger (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593519448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Penguin Workshop - August 8th, 2023

THIS BOOK IS SO FUN! Skeleanor goes on a quest to find her sound and finds so much more. With short chapters, awesome puns, and bold illustrations, this book will engage any young reader. As Skeleanor struggles to make her bone rattles into song, she learns to believe in herself and lean on the support of her friends. We're blessed to have author Emily Ettlinger in the DMV and even more psyched to enjoy the adventures of Skeleanor the Decomposer! — Hannah


Staff Pick Badge
Curlfriends: New in Town (A Graphic Novel) By Sharee Miller Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316591454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Little, Brown Ink - October 10th, 2023

OMGGGG this book is so cute and relatable! We all remember those painfully awkward middle school experiences. This story is for any preteen experiencing big changes. Whether these changes are happening at school, home, or the playground, this book lets you know you’re not alone and that you got this! — Brandi


Staff Pick Badge
Bean The Stretchy Dragon: A Sally & Bean Adventure By Ari Stocrate Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781524881016
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Click on the title to see which location!
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - September 19th, 2023

I am officially obsessed with this delightful kids graphic novel. Bean's days are full of fantastic swamp adventures, including meeting exciting creatures (like the Abbagoochie and picnicking grumpy Fairies!), getting tangled up in yarn, and finding the best spots to bury her most valuable treasures, all while living her best stretchy dragon life with her favorite witch, Sally. An adorable addition to any library! — Rebecca


Staff Pick Badge
Hoops: A Graphic Novel By Matt Tavares, Matt Tavares (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Matt Tavares, Matt Tavares (Illustrator)
$12.99
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781536231953
Published: Candlewick - March 14th, 2023

Matt Tavares' historical graphic novel is inspired by a real team — the first girls' basketball team at an Indiana high school back in 1976. The girls have to make their own uniforms with electrical tape, practice five hours after all the boys' teams, and drive themselves to games. As we follow the former cheerleader protagonist, we discover how the love of the game — and their team — propelled these young women to stand up against the sexist attitudes of the time. Pay tribute to these pioneering student athletes and what they had to endure and overcome just to get on the court. — Sandie