Monica Brashears and Reggie Bailey for HOUSE OF COTTON *IN-PERSON*

Loyalty is delighted to welcome Monica Brashears and Reggie Bailey for an IN-PERSON event celebrating the release of House of Cotton! Join us at Loyalty's Petworth store at 7 PM on Tuesday, April 11th for an incredible discussion, followed by a meet + greet & book signing! 

This event is free to attend but RSVPs are required—please use the form below. **Face masks are required for all attendees.** Please email events@loyaltybookstores.com with any questions.

ABOUT THE BOOK

A stunning, contemporary Black southern gothic novel about what it means to be a poor woman in the God-fearing south. Perfect for readers of The Other Black Girl and Luster

“Every page, every scene, every sentence of Monica Brashears’s debut novel House of Cotton dazzles and surprises. An intense, enthralling, and deeply satisfying read!” —Deesha Philyaw, author of The Secret Lives of Church Ladies

"A new, dazzling, and essential American voice." —George Saunders, author of Lincoln in the Bardo

Magnolia Brown is nineteen years old, broke, and effectively an orphan. She feels stuck and haunted: by her overdrawn bank account, her predatory landlord, and the ghost of her late grandmother Mama Brown.

One night, while working at her dead-end gas station job, a mysterious, slick stranger named Cotton walks in and offers to turn Magnolia’s luck around with a lucrative “modeling” job at his family’s funeral home. She accepts. But despite things looking up, Magnolia’s problems fatten along with her wallet. When Cotton’s requests become increasingly weird, Magnolia discovers there’s a lot more at stake than just her rent.

Sharp as a belted knife, this sly social commentary cuts straight to the bone. House of Cotton will keep you mesmerized until the very last page.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Monica Brashears is an Affrilachian writer from Tennessee. She is a graduate of Syracuse University's MFA program. Her work has appeared in Nashville Review, Split Lip Magazine, Appalachian Review, The Masters Review, and more. House of Cotton is her first novel.

ABOUT THE IN CONVERSATION PARTNER

Reggie Bailey is the co-founder and Executive Producer of Books Are Pop Culture, the talk show that asks the questions pop culture deserves to the authors who create it. He is the creator of the 10 Books 10 Decades: The Biggest Book Challenge. A literary citizen who believes that books are a form of entertainment that should occupy the same space in our cultural lexicon as film, television, music, video games & fashion.

Please note Loyalty has a zero tolerance policy for harassment or intimidation of any kind during this event. 

Event date: 
Tuesday, April 11, 2023 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
843 Upshur Street NW
Washington, DC 20011
House of Cotton: A Novel By Monica Brashears Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250851918
Availability: Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!
Published: Flatiron Books - April 4th, 2023

RSVP Form: