Angeline Boulley and Nick Brooks for WARRIOR GIRL UNEARTHED and PROMISE BOYS *IN-PERSON*

Join Loyalty Bookstores and DC Public Library for a live, in-person event with Angeline Boulley and Nick Brooks to celebrate their latest releases, Warrior Girl Unearthed and Promise Boys, moderated by Kit Ballenger! This event will take place at DCPL's Lamond-Riggs/Lillian J. Huff Neighborhood Library**This event is free to attend, but registration is requiredplease RSVP on DCPL's website.** You can purchase the book from Loyalty below or borrow a copy from DCPL, and we will have additional copies for sale at the event. Please email  with any questions.

ABOUT WARRIOR GIRL UNEARTHED

#1 New York Times bestselling author of Firekeeper's Daughter Angeline Boulley takes us back to Sugar Island in this high-stakes thriller about the power of discovering your stolen history.

Perry Firekeeper-Birch has always known who she is - the laidback twin, the troublemaker, the best fisher on Sugar Island. Her aspirations won't ever take her far from home, and she wouldn't have it any other way. But as the rising number of missing Indigenous women starts circling closer to home, as her family becomes embroiled in a high-profile murder investigation, and as greedy grave robbers seek to profit off of what belongs to her Anishinaabe tribe, Perry begins to question everything.

In order to reclaim this inheritance for her people, Perry has no choice but to take matters into her own hands. She can only count on her friends and allies, including her overachieving twin and a charming new boy in town with unwavering morals. Old rivalries, sister secrets, and botched heists cannot - will not - stop her from uncovering the mystery before the ancestors and missing women are lost forever. 

ABOUT PROMISE BOYS

A blockbuster, dark academia mystery about three teens of color who must investigate their principal’s murder to clear their own names—this page-turning thriller is perfect for fans of Karen McManus, Jason Reynolds, Angie Thomas, and Holly Jackson.

"Thrilling, captivating, and blade-sharp." —Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"A brilliant pulls-no-punches mystery." —Adam Silvera, #1 New York Times bestselling author of They Both Die at the End

The prestigious Urban Promise Prep school might look pristine on the outside, but deadly secrets lurk within. When the principal ends up murdered on school premises and the cops come sniffing around, a trio of students—J.B., Ramón, and Trey—emerge as the prime suspects. They had the means, they had the motive—and they may have had the murder weapon. But with all three maintaining their innocence, they must band together to track down the real killer before they are arrested. Or is the true culprit hiding among them?

Find out who killed Principal Moore in Nick Brooks's murder mystery, Promise BoysThe Hate U Give meets One of Us Is Lying.

ABOUT THE AUTHORS

Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She is a former Director of the Office of Indian Education at the U.S. Department of Education. Angeline lives in southwest Michigan, but her home will always be on Sugar Island. Firekeeper's Daughter is her debut novel.

Nick Brooks is an author and award-winning filmmaker from Washington, DC. He is a 2020 graduate of USC's TV and Film Production program. His short film, Hoop Dreamin', earned him the George Lucas Scholar Award and was a finalist in the Forbes 30 Under 30 Film Fest. He is currently in development for his first feature film, We Were Born Kings, with Mandalay Pictures. Before becoming a filmmaker, Nick was an educator working with at-risk youth and many of his stories are colored by his experiences with the children and families of his community. He is also the author of Nothing Interesting Ever Happens to Ethan Fairmont. Follow Nick on Twitter and on Instagram.

ABOUT THE MODERATOR

Kit Ballenger, JD/MLIS, is a Washington, D.C. area youth services librarian and literary consultant with Help Your Shelf. She is active with ALA, loves working with KidLit clients, like the nonprofit Pride and Less and Prejudice, and appears regularly on satellite radio as the Kids Place Live librarian in residence. You can find her reviews at Shelf Awareness, in Booklist, and on Instagram @KitonLit.

Please note Loyalty has a zero tolerance policy for harassment or intimidation of any kind during virtual or in-person events. 

Event date: 
Thursday, May 18, 2023 - 6:00pm
Event address: 
Lamond-Riggs/Lillian J. Huff Neighborhood Library
5401 South Dakota Ave. NE
Washington, DC 20011
Staff Pick Badge
Warrior Girl Unearthed By Angeline Boulley Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250766588
Availability: Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 2nd, 2023

Promise Boys By Nick Brooks Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250866974
Availability: Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 31st, 2023

Firekeeper's Daughter By Angeline Boulley Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250866035
Availability: Not In Store - Available to special order for pickup or ship. For even speediest shipping we suggest our Bookshop.org page!
Published: Square Fish - April 25th, 2023